“Doubt: A Parable” (and The Nonagenarians?)

[Shelly Karnis, Linda Kelsey, and Linda Akenson]

Doubt: A Parable

So, there I sat, minding my own business, when the phone rang Monday afternoon.  The supervisor was calling from her bridge game to ask if we wanted the two extra tickets Beryl had for the Theatre L’Homme Dieu (TLHD) play, Doubt: A Parable, on Tuesday night.  Well, we hadn’t made a move yet for tickets, but we prefer going on Tuesdays, opening nights, because then you can go to the cast party afterwards.  So, I said, “Good idea!”  Besides, Beryl was coming with three of her high school classmates from St. Louis Park, and I was partial to the idea of going out with five ladies.  🙂

I didn’t know anything about the play.  I read that Linda Kelsey had a lead role – and I remembered her from her role on The Lou Grant Show on TV.  And I vaguely remembered she was a native Minnesotan – and she is, from Minneapolis, a well-known suburb of Alexandria.  To the the-ay’-tur we went.  (Did I mention The Lou Grant Show began in 1979 – really, where does the time go??]

So, there I sat, minding my own business, in the front row when classmate Betty (Larson) Butcher, with husband Perry, came and sat down right next to me.  [See Betty as the apres party performer in the previous TLHD posting.] Now Betty is a theatre expert – performer of song, dance, acting, and instrumenting – so I, being of occasionally sound mind, had to figure a way of pretending I really understood the performing arts (i.e., if you hum a few bars, I’ll fake it).  Betty said we had to discuss the play at its conclusion – I almost felt the need to take notes.  You will have to see the play to know what I mean.

Linda and her three fellow cast members were all terrific.  It is an intense drama that goes on for about a 100 minutes without intermission.  At its conclusion, the cast received a spontaneous standing ovation from the audience.

Then it was on to the lodge for the cast party.  That is where I took the above photo.  Shelly and Linda (w/ Tom) were the individual show sponsors – along with the season sponsors, The Aagard Group and Elden’s.  They all deserve a major round of thanks for providing such great entertainment for us in the lakes area.  And thanks again to Terry Kennedy and Al Lieffort for providing the entertainment at the party – it’s like a doubleheader!

[Terry and Al, in their younger days.]

[Melissa Harris-Perry wanted to be there.  (OK, that’s just a guess – photo from TRMS site.)]

p.s.  Did I mention the supervisor seems intent on reading the entire William Kent Krueger library in record time?  Just wonderin’.

The Nonagenarians

[Editor’s note:  This has absolutely nothing to do with the above story.  But it has been languishing around for a month now because I’ve had no place to stick it.  Yeah, I know – you can tell me where to stick it . . .]

Tuesday, June 12, dawned bright and breezy . . . and possibly a tad chilly.  Crazy Dave was home from having spent way too much time in Sarasota and advised the morning senior league that he would not yet be making his debut because it was too cold!

But others (real men?) were not so deterred.  As those with gray in their hair and a limp to their gait began assembling for their weekly assault on the AGC, word spread some famous guests would be joining us.  The excitement was palpable.

It seems certain members of the league had been putting a full-court press on Martin Haar and Warren Gibson to come play with us again.  Martin and Warren, now in their 90’s, each decided a couple of years ago to give up their club memberships – that their golf careers, which consisted mainly of income redistribution from us to them, were over.  We learned again on this day that not only are they still great fun to play with – but that they can still play!  We hope for further reunions.

[Gordy Anderson, Warren Gibson, and Martin Haar]

Oh, and Gordy is still a member and still shooting better than his 90+ age on a regular basis.  We had just heard that morning that John Gustafson, a member of the Alexandria Education Foundation Hall of Fame, had died at age 80.  Gordy noted that made him feel “old” as he had hired John right out of St. Olaf.

Martin and Warren joined us all to play the back 9.  Warren played in the group ahead of us – we played with Martin in the following group.  When we arrived on the 17th tee, we could see Warren had hit into the left-side trap.  With trusty Canon in hand, I sped up the hill to catch the action with the following story in mind:

A fellow of age hit his golf ball into a sand trap.  As he descended in to play his next shot, he bemoaned to his partners that he couldn’t get out of traps.  He then proceeded to hit his sand shot into the hole to the amazement of those present, who queried, “We thought you couldn’t get out of traps?”  “I can’t,” he said, “Give me a hand up!”

Anyway, by the time I reached my quarry, Warren, and two of his playing partners, were on their hands and knees just trying to rake the ball out of the steep side of the trap.  I captured Warren with a bemused look on his face – and then had my photo taken with the guy who is still my hero.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Doubt: A Parable” (and The Nonagenarians?)

  1. Dick Patton says:

    These pictures bring back memories. I miss playing golf with all my old friends.

Leave a Reply

